I have yet to come up with a good waffle recipe. My son Jacob is a big fan of the waffle and

Soggy Waffle

though I excel in the area of soups and stews and anything you can toss in a skillet, the waffle eludes me. I understand the basics: milk, eggs, flour, salt, a raising agent, oil and I prefer vanilla.  But, I can’t seem to get the combination just right and my waffles end up soggy, or waxy, or too “eggy” (a word, I’m pretty sure, was coined by my 15 year old, waffle connoisseur son.)

As I approach my 43rd birthday, I realize my life is a lot like that elusive waffle. I’m pretty sure I’ve figured out the ingredients I need to be fulfilled but my recipe is still, after all this time, in the experimental stage. It seems like the mixer is set on whip all the time but what I’d really enjoy is a nice gentle fold.

So if you have a tried and true waffle recipe you’d like to share, my son would be most thankful. Any advice on how to slow this mixer down would be appreciated too.

