Tags

, , , , ,

My Purse

I love writing at Strange Brew Coffee House.  There are distractions here but sometimes the distractions and conversations overheard are fuel for the writing.  A young woman sat down across from me and we talked about her purse.  We agreed that women who carry a clutch make no sense.  Why would you carry a purse that ties up one hand all the time?  What if you need to answer your cell while holding your coffee?  What do you do with a clutch?  I guess a purse can tell a lot about a woman.

I carry a small rectangular purse with a zip down outside flap.  I keep all my crucial I.D., credit card, and money in that flap for easy access.  All the junk goes in the zip top on the inside.  I recently put a little bag in the glove compartment of my car for extras like dental floss and Tylenol so I could free up space in my purse.  My purse says, “I like to keep it simple.”

My sister-in-law carries a huge bag.  It is stylish, floppy and spacious.  She usually has a full-sized can of hairspray, a hairbrush, a bag of nuts, large bottled water, an apple, an orange or banana, her camera, a book and an entire make-up kit in there.  When we are out having lunch, she will periodically dig through her bag and come up with various gems.  Her purse says, “I am prepared for anything.”

I met a woman in Vegas who carried a bag like that and she had a habit of digging through hers every few minutes for something.  She was a smoker so most of the searching was for her lighter but I kind of felt like it was a nervous thing.  She took comfort in digging through that big purse.  What does your purse (or wallet, guys) say about you?

