Tags

, , ,

It figures.  The night I hit the sheets so totally exhausted that I sleep like a log and can’t remember a single dream, Fred wants to talk about the creative inspiration of dreaming. 

It’s all about symbolism.  When we sleep, our brains try to solve our emotional issues using flashes of imagery.  These images often inspire visual artists to produce pieces containing similarly condensed symbolism. Writers too can use these images to add symbolism to our writing.

I’ve had some crazy dreams and I actually wrote a piece of flash fiction in high school about one.  Back then it wasn’t called flash fiction.  I think we just called it a really short story.  My mom found a draft of  The Wall shortly before my 40th birthday and included it in my birthday card.  I thought about posting it here straight from my 15-year-old brain (circa about 1982), but decided not to subject you to such terrible writing.  However, the story actually has merit.  It’s a tale of a person experiencing a recurring dream she just can’t seem to shake during the light of day and how that dream evolves into a surprising turn of events.  It’s full of bad descriptions and lots of telling instead of showing but there’s a story there.  It’s just another project to add to my list of stories to revisit.

