Tags

, , , ,

Bargersville, Indiana

I have found that I’m pretty good at writing down my personal experiences in a way that tells the tale without boring the life out of my reader.  In other words, I can tell a good story.   There are a lot of good story tellers out there but not all of them are writers.  Today, Fred suggests looking at every day life experiences in a new way.  In this excercise we are to treat our experiences as part of our research and then take them beyond the ordinary by asking, “What if?”

I have a neighbor who is a nice old guy and his property overlaps the back of our property to form an “L” shape.  He has this huge dilapidated gray barn that sits behind our property line and he is very persnickety about anyone getting near it.  Now, his story is that he’s afraid someone will get hurt out there and that seems reasonable.  But, what if…?

What if Mr. Orville has been socking away cash all these years?  What if out in the dark dusty corners of that barn lay piles of mason jars stuffed with silver dollars.  Or, what if he’s making moonshine and that rickety old place houses a giant galvanized still?  Better yet, a time machine or a wrecked alien space craft… the possibilities are endless.

Fred says the trick here is to imagine those endless possibilities but then choose the one that takes you in a new direction or that takes an old story and gives it new life.  I think I’ll start by finding my binoculars.  I wonder what Mr. Orville is doing right now?

