Tags

,

I am my own worst enemy when it comes to putting up road blocks to my writing.  I tell myself I’ll get to it when the dishes are done and I’ve filed our taxes and after dinner.  I never get to it.  The idea that I enjoy writing makes it a less valuable task than all the others I’m responsible for.  I feel like I’m being selfish if I put it first.

But, that’s just what I’ve decided to do.  I’m determined to write when I first get up in the morning.  Right now my husband is grumpy because he was sleeping next to my writing space.  I’m not sure how he could hear my typing over his snoring but apparantly, I woke him up.

Well, this new plan works better when the kids are at school and my husband is at work so I guess I’ll have to work out some sort of compromise for the weekend.  But it definitely ensures that I keep in practice if nothing else.  As soon as I walk away from my writing desk the phone rings and emails need to be addressed and the hope of writing for the rest of the day is lost.  But, if I can hold those first moments of morning sacred, I’ll keep writing and not feel guilty about stealing time from something else in my day.

