What do I do if the source of my discontent is living with loved ones suffering from discontent of their choosing?  I like my life.  My house isn’t perfect, my job isn’t perfect, but I’m ok with that.  I like my husband most of the time.  My kids are great.  We have enough food to eat and a place to keep warm and dry.  What’s not to love?

But, what do you do if you find yourself surround by people who if given the chance would have done things differently.  Their sour regrets make for difficult relationships and I find myself wanting to shake these people (whom I love) and tell them to get it together and be thankful or get some drugs.

I’ve know for a long time that I alone am responsible for my own happiness.  It’s a choice I make every day and in every situation.  Be happy or change it, those are the options of life.  Don’t get me wrong, there are days I wallow.  I wake up tired and I have too much on my plate and I have to make a sacrifice I don’t want to make and I get a little whinny.  But for the most part, on a daily basis, I’m ok to just roll with it.  I’ve also figured out that it’s unfair for someone to hold me accountable for their happiness.  When we spend our time trying to make someone else happy, we just end up making ourselves miserable.

So again, I ask…what’s to be done when someone you love is stuck in the mire of discontent?  In the words of the Beatles, “Let it be.”

